It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people believe that it is impractical for a large proportion of youngsters to pursue tertiary education. While governments have aimed at expanding the number of university places for young people, I completely agree with the view that this practice is neither effective nor feasible.

It is not possible to provide university places for most youngsters. First, undoubtedly, governments have to allocate resources to abundant areas, such as military, health care and economy. In order to offer places to a large number of students in universities, governments have to provide more funding for maintaining quality facilities as well as employing qualified teachers. As a result, this might push governments to the verge of bankruptcy. Especially in underprivileged countries, where governments are also responsible for stabilising the economy and politics. Second, university entrance standards would be lowered so that students with lower grades could gain admittance. In term of transmission of knowledge, this will not only affect the quality of higher education negatively, but high-flyers will also suffer.

It is also not useful for a high proportion of youngsters to attend universities. Unlike vocational course, the curriculum in college covers a lot of ground, therefore, many students might find some syllabus unnecessary. Instead of pursuing tertiary education, young people should attend vocational courses or joining work force to gain valuable skills and acquire experience. It might be more practical for students to put what they have learned at school into practice.

In conclusion, I argue that governments should provide subsidies for upgrading facilities or hiring more certified teachers instead of offering more university places to a high percentage of young people.