The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the Internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The introduction of the Internet has indeed affected how information is communicated and led to many unprecedented issues. While the Internet has had many negative impacts on human beings, there are viable solutions that can be taken to address the problems.

To commence with, the development of the Internet largely contributed to the spreading of fake news. Due to the ample and abundant data people can access, it is difficult to distinguish authentic information from misleading one. Many people would argue that before the Internet era, fake news can spread through word of mouth. However, I believe that the Internet worsens the situation as the spread of many edited proofs interferes with people’s ability to determine the truth. Another problem associated with the Internet would probably be the degradation of cognitive function. It is undeniable that plagiarism can be conducted more easily nowadays. The main reason is that the existence of E-books and social media makes referencing much more labor-saving. Consequently, the cognitive development of Internet users, especially the young, can be adversely influenced due to their overreliance on online websites.

However, preventive measures could be promptly taken to tackle the problems. First and foremost, people should carefully evaluate every single piece of information they collect online. To be more specific, the authority, sources, and purposes of the information should be clarified. It is also advisable that people familiarize themselves with the general characteristics of fake news to identify them at a glance. Furthermore, solutions to mentioned problems would probably involve the school effort to facilitate students with the necessary skills when using the Internet. Students should always be aware of the possible downsides and how to utilize the Internet wisely.

In conclusion, while the improvement in spreading and gathering information that the Internet brings has certain drawbacks on users, feasible solutions involving people awareness and education would mitigate the problems.