The internet has vastly increased our access to information To what extent do you think this is a good thing Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience You should spend about 40 minutes on this ta

These days, access to information has dramatically increased with the advent of the internet. While I agree that this is a positive development, I believe that it can be detrimental for individuals and society.

Admittedly, the benefits of more access to information as a result of the internet are many and varied. Firstly, it is convenient. This is because we can read various materials about world events in our comfort zones, without visiting any cyberstore, as long as we have an internet connection or a working WiFi as well as a computer or smartphone. Also, the internet never closes, there is round-the-clock access, which enables everyone to get information according to their commitments. Furthermore, students are not left out as it has helped them to complete their school projects and write their thesis without visiting the library to search for paper books and other resources the traditional way.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages, I think that not everything on online platforms is always accurate. One obvious issue is that anyone can write articles without the material going through any screening medium.Wikipedia, for example, is a good illustration for this as the contents posted by different people on this website sometimes contain many errors, which can lead to misinterpretation and misrepresentation. Another problem is that the bloggers can write fabricated stories about celebrities and other popular people in society just to bring them down. What is more, the media also put up fake news about the government just to cause chaos between the ruling party, the opposition party and the citizens. Hence, not everything on the cyberspace is always true.

In conclusion, although the increased access to information has brought both convenience and flexibility, I completely believe that there are more drawbacks than benefits associated with this phenomenon.