Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause both social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is often thought that migrating to a new country where one naturally has to communicate in another tongue cannot only be practically difficult but also socially too. In my opinion, I strongly agree because this constitutes a huge problem with effective communication, mobility as well as securing a job.

To begin with, the inability to speak in the native language will invariably lead to failure to fully express one's personality and form a social bonds with others. One obvious reason for this is that it results in isolation and prevents the free flow of accurate information because the parties involved will not understand each other. For instance, it may hinder shopping or buying of goods and services at ridiculous prices due to lack of negotiation from the language barrier. What is more, it may be difficult for people who speak a different tongue to learn from each other, which can foment discrimination and separation of groups.

Moreover, not knowing the language of your country of residence can hinder movement from one place to the other. This is simply because understanding the road signs, asking for direction or the use of digital maps requires at least some basic knowledge of the lingo. Another pragmatic problem is the increased unemployment rates among newly arrived immigrants who cannot speak the language of their country of residence. An employer will prefer to hire someone who has mastered the dialect to a certain level and not a beginner to avoid jeopardy that can arise while conveying information at the workplace.

In conclusion, although mobility, barrier in communicating and lack of jobs are the major problems arising from failure to speak the language of the country where one resides. Efforts should be made by potential migrants to acquire at least the basic language skills of their new or prospective countries from their native countries before moving to a new country.