It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society

There is not any escape from the fact that both print or electronic media are dominant in many aspects of our life irrespective of age and place. It is worth discussing the impact of media how its widespread existence is benefiting and harming the masses around the globe. Both the elements are explained in the ensuing paragraphs.

Taking the brighter side into consideration first, media can be mainly categorized in two segments - education and entertainment. The most common mediums are TV, Radio, Internet, Newspaper and books which make a huge volume of valuable information and learning available to the people. For example, a student can access hundreds of youtube channels for a subject(science and maths) and the option of buying and reading bestselling books or magazines on any topic is always open. Apart from this, entertainment, which is also a primary need today, is catered to overwhelmingly through every form of media. If we talk about music and movies only, then a large number of TV and radio channels exist alongside new OTT platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, YouTube and ganna.com etc. Which are easily accessible on smartphones and computers. Social networking apps, in addition, not only connect people for fun but also for educational and business purposes.

However, excess of everything is bad; the dominance of media has given rise to some serious problems. All the content people read, listen or see deeply engage and overpower their mind. For instance, it seems hard for a student to concentrate on studies after watching suspense thriller movies or nail-biting live tournaments. Moreover, online games are so addictive that people especially a teenager waste lots of precious time on them despite their severe consequence. Blue whale is the best illustration of the worst impact a mobile game can leave on the mind. In other words, media is serving anything regardless of quality in the name of entertainment and information because it is a prolific business. Indirectly, low individual performance, aggressive behaviour and social disharmony are the clear attributions of irresponsible media.

In conclusion, not everything is rational and good for people which is being provided to them through multiple mediums. It depends on individuals, whether they drawing the advantages or becoming a victim of inappropriate virtual data.