It is better for the students to live away from the home during their university
studies rather than staying with their parents. To what extent do you agree or
disagree?
While some people think that students ought to live alone whilst studying at
university, it is believed by others that it is better for them to remain living at
home. In my opinion, I think students benefit from living alone unless their
finances prevent it.
Firstly, one of the main reasons why it is advantageous for students to live alone
is that they become totally independent of their parents and able to think for
themselves. University is a time for students to spread their wings and try new
ideas or ways of thinking and learn to cope with making life changing decisions.
By living alone, without the influence of their parents, they develop rounder,
decisive characters able to function well in the world.
Another advantage to students fleeing the parental nest is that they learn to
manage money. Most students see university as a stepping stone to adulthood
and so by learning to live on a budget, they develop the skills needed once they
are earning a salary and balancing their finances. Renting property also comes
with responsibilities to both landlords and housemates, and this is a further
lesson to learn in useful life skills.
Finally, however, regardless of how beneficial living alone might be for university
students, it might be financially impractical for some. For a small proportion of
university students, their finances might require them to stay at home for as long
as possible until they are finally able to support themselves through paid work.
In conclusion, while it might not be feasible for all students, living away from
parents helps university students develop strength of character and useful life
skills needed for when they enter working life.