It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that media, pop culture and friends are generally though to have the biggest impact on a child’s development. While other people strongly believe that family is the most important factor. Personally, I agree with the former opinion for a number of reasons.

Most children live with their family: their parents or grandparents. Children are taught and cared for by their families, children will imitate and learn from their parents' personalities and actions, thereby affecting the formation and development of children's personalities. The surrounding environment and family will directly affect the child's development, for example, children living in an unhappy family will have a rebellious personality, resistance, crime rate in these children is also higher. Therefore, the family is also a major factor in the growth of children.

However, in my opinion, with the development of science and technology, children are exposed to smart devices and the internet from a young age, they learn and receive everything from the internet, thereby affecting their thinking children's thoughts and actions. In addition, children are increasingly going to school, spending more time with friends than family, they often have the habit of imitating what they are exposed to. Children will imitate each other, learn from each other, also known as crowd psychology because they do not have much experience, so they will be easily influenced. A simple example is the Tiktok application that is being loved by young people, this application is constantly updated with many new trends and children will imitate those trends, to integrate with friends, children others will follow.

To summarize, both family and external factors play an important role in children's development although my view is that external factors have more influence on children but children need both the above factors to be able to perfect and develop both physically and mentally better.