Task 2:

It is commonly believed that nowadays the main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture, and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that a child's growth is affected by surrounding factors, namely social media, pop culture, and peers. Meanwhile, some other people claim that family has an important role in the development of children. In my opinion, I side with the second view for several reasons.

Firstly, children are permitted to access the Internet at a young age which is increasing. In the modern era, many children own various modern technologies such as smartphones, laptops, or iPads which can help them easily access the Internet. This can lead to many problems related to children's development. To illustrate, according to recent research in the USA, digital media also have a great impact on developing youngsters' personalities. In addition, children can be influenced by trending fashion and peers. It is true that youngsters always want to be the same as their friends and catch up with the newest trend. Then they will likely copy other people in wearing style or behaviors.

On the other hand, I profoundly believe that family plays a vital role in the growth of youngsters. Firstly, parents are the first people who teach children when their children are born until they grow up. For example, parents educate children how to respect elders and treat other people in respective and polite ways. Therefore, youngsters can learn and imitate directly from their parents' behaviors as well as teaching methods. Moreover, parents are the closest people to children, thus, they can avoid children timely from negative effects from the Internet and society. For instance, mom and dad can spend their free time playing sports or outdoor activities with their children and restrict the time youngsters spend on video games or social media. This can help children have better health and avoid negative impacts from social media.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that parents are the most effective mentors to affect children’s growth and personalities from when they were a kid until they are an adult.