It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the hosting of international sports events, such as Olympic Games or FIFA World Cup, is a waste of money or not. While some think it is not worth holding a big event like that compared to the economy of their countries, I would argue that it will bring more advantages in the long run.

On the one hand, there are two main drawbacks why some people think it is a waste of money. One common concern is the tendency for the autual costs of hosting these events to far exceed initial estimates. These expenses associated with constructing or refurbishing stadiums, infrastructure development, security measures, and organizational logistics can skyrocket, leading to financial burdens on the host country. For example, the 2016 Rio Olympics, initially projected to cost around $3 billion, ended up with a final price tag of over $13 billion due to various factors such as additional transportation investments, and last-minute venue adjustments. Another concern is environmental impact. The needs for extensive lighting, heating and cooling systems in the venues, as well as increased demand in the host city, resulted in a significant carbon footprint. Energy generation to meet the demands often relied on fossil fuel resources, contributing to greenhouse gas emissions and air pollution.

However, I believe that hosting international sports events will help to boost the host country's economy and tourism industry in the long-term period. The influx of tourtists will come and increase spending on accomodation, restaurants, shops, tranportation and entertainments, which generates substantial revenue. This provides an opportunity for the host country to enhance its image as a tourist destination, attracting tourism and encouraging future investments. Additionally, these events aslo bring people from different nations and cultures together, which foster cultural exchange, promote understanding, and create a sense of unity among nations. For instance, the 2020 Tokyo Olympics promoted its unique customs by intergrating cultural aspects into the event and the concept of "Omotenashi" emphasized to refer the Japanese art of hospitality.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to host international sports events due to their benefits it brings.