It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letter(through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. Which factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

It is often said that people in twentieth century wrote more letters (through the mail or post) than those in today's world. I think there are two main causes and a number of damaging effects for the lives of future generations.

The major cause is the difficult handwriting. People feel difficult to read their own handwriting, so they prefer texting with the keyboard to handwriting, . Texting is quicker than handwriting because of people do not have to use their minds while they relay on technology to make the decisions for them. The second key cause is the efficiency of e-mail and social media in sending message. E-mail, as a written form of communication, not only have the permanence of a letter, but also can be sent instantaneously and can be replied quickly. This is the blend of the speed of a telephone call with the long-lasting quality of a physical message.

The effect on the lives of a future generations can be quite devastating. As technology advances, Instant Messaging gives online users the opportunity to conduct a written conversation. However, communication through Instant Messenger has many poor grammars and it teaches many of young users to write in such a way. Text messaging often results in poor written messages that have potential damage in decreasing general writing skills.

Overall, the difficulty of handwriting and the efficiency of the electronic message are the key causes behind this trend. The effect on the lives of future generations is the decreasing of general writing skills.