It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Punishment can heavily influence a child’s personality and behavior development, which is linked to learning right and wrong. From my point of view, punishment does not have much of a role to play in children’s developmental journey.

Punishment can be considered a popular method that parents and teachers use to educate their children and help them recognize their mistakes to make it right. When students and children breach the rules and make something bad, they will take responsibility to be disciplined with the penalties. Hence, fear of being punished formed in the mindset of children, they will tend to comply with the right things. However, this kind of punishment can bring some negative effects to the child’s morale.

To some extent, the question depends on the age of the child. To punish a very young child is a foolish and unexpected action, as an unworldly infant will not understand what is happening and why he or she is being disciplined. Until the child is old enough, chastisement especially by the physical impact will make them obsessive and scared or burdened with unnecessary pressure when doing something. That will lead to some unwelcoming results such as bullies issues or mental breakdowns in the future.

To help a child learn the difference between right and wrong, teachers and parents should have some suitable methods to help them develop their conscience such as withdrawal of privileges, time-out, or apologize when they make a mistake. Or, reward for good behavior like encouragement or give candy or food. In this way, responsibility is developed in the collective nervous system in the child, which can advance better behavior and conscience rather than punishment.