Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different views about how much students should have regarding what they can choose to study at the university. While some argue that students should be forced to study certain subject areas, I believe that everyone should be able to study whatever they want.

There are various reasons why people believe university forced students to study the subject which will be useful in the future. An affirmation was imprinted in their minds that some fields like medicine, technology or business is more beneficial than others. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these kinds of industries can create better opportunities, career progression, and higher salary which can enhance the living standard of students who take them. On the comprehensively and holistically side, forcing the student to study particular subjects can help fill in the knowledge gaps in terms of social level. Moreover, the increasing number of participants in the technology industry can be a great assistant to make more inventions, which can be the foundation to develop modern society.

Despite this argument, it is more convincing to arguing that university students should be free to choose the things that they truly want to learn. Someone with passion and love for work will create better efficiency in jobs, or even become an expert in a particular field, thereby, bring more benefit to the company as well as the society. Moreover, people can not predict the areas which will be useful and beneficial in the future, it may be an employee in the entertainment industry valuing more by his or her creative skills than someone who has particular or technical skills. Since then, more people will be entering the art fields than the current popular ones like science or technology.

In conclusion, it is sensible for universities to focus on the most useful subjects. I believe students should be able to study whatever they like.