It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age.Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children are usually not aware of the mistakes they make, such as talking loudly when having meals, taking other's belongings without asking for permission. Thus, it is crucial for teachers and parents to tell them what is right and what is wrong. In my opinion, punishment is needed, but it must be in a reasonable way in which kids can realize their mistakes.

To begin with, children can quickly foster good habits for fear of being punished. If they keep being naughty, talking with partners in class, teachers need to punish those students in hope of warning other students of the same behavior. After punishment like standing in the front of the classroom, they can behave well in class in the future. What's more, some mistakes are extremely dangerous and once they make those mistakes, severe punishments must be taken by parents. For instance, if a child takes candy from a stranger, we have no idea whether the candy contains medicine and there is a possibility that the child will be kidnapped. Hence, if parents find that their children cannot refuse things from strangers, they must punish them in case they will be in danger.

In terms of what kind of punishment should be made, parents and teachers should utilize the right way. For parents, they cannot teach their kids a lesson by not giving them food to eat. After all, no matter what mistake children make, they need nutritious food to grow up. For teachers, the best punishment is to assign more homework to those who are naughty. Teachers should bear in mind that young as students are, they must be respected by others.

All in all, punishment can enable children to quickly correct their wrong behavior. However, the correct way to punish them is of great importance.