"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to

spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Metabolic diseases are on rise amongst people in many countries and this has led to a consequent increase in government spending in treating these diseases. With this backdrop, it is now suggested that an effective way to tackle this problem is to shift focus towards prevention of diseases through education of masses. I agree with this viewpoint as this empowers the citizens to take care of their own health.

Increased commercialization and changing working patterns have pushed people to adopt unhealthy eating habits and sedentary lifestyles. For example, a lot of people have disposable incomes which allow them the luxury of a car. This coupled with easy availability of highly processed foods, has led to an increase in Obesity, Diabetes and heart diseases incidences. As a result, the national healthcare systems are left grappling with treating ill people beyond their capacity and resources. the governments, therefore are put under unfair burden of allocating additional budgets to treat its ailing population.

However, using this same budget to educate people on making healthy choices can prove to be a better alternative. Most people lack enough knowledge to make sensible choices with related to food. Government can divert its resources of doctors and dieticians to create awareness in households through education of children and families. Further, developing infrastructure such as cycling lanes or public sports centers and jogging parks can motivate people to become more active. Physical activity is known to help prevent metabolic disease development. This, increase in activity along with knowledge of healthy eating habits can be effective in preventing health problems.

To conclude, I agree, that investing in health education and preventive measures will lessen the burden on state health care systems and prove to be more beneficial strategy in long- run with regards to health of population.