“Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood”. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.

Mothers are generally considered to be the important one, amongst parent, for the upbringing of children. However, some believe that fathers also need to be equally involved in child rearing. I cannot be agreeing more with the latter opinion, as I feel, that a child needs guidance and support of both of his parents.

The role of mother cannot be emphasised more for development of child. It is the mother who not only nourishes a child on birth, but also is the parent that child looks upto for care and comfort throughout his or her life. For example, a child when feels hungry goes to his mother demanding for food. Similarly, when he has scared due to nightmares at night, the child seeks comfort from his mother. This is primarily because the jobs of cooking and providing an emotional support are largely considered to be under female domain by the society. As opposed to that fathers are seen as bread winners, playing a role of ensuring monetary support for children.

However, in 21st century the society has undergone a change and is increasingly leaning towards father's role in child upbringing. Research has shown that just as a child needs comfort from his mother, he also needs a father figure to turn him into a model resident of society. While fathers, traditionally have not been involved in child care practices, research has shown that their participation in tasks related to caring of children, helps in increasing their bonding with their own off-spring. This early bonding is essential stepping stone for the future of the child, as it ensures that the child will feel secure to approach his father for his problems or advise in grown up phase.

To conclude, while mothers may be the decision makers for bringing the child into the world, in order to make sure that the child is brought in a good way, participation of both father and mother is important.