Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

An University degree has become an important milestone to be achieved so as to compete in today's job market. While some believe that the courses in Universities should, therefore, provide skill oriented curriculum, others think that they should be more academic in nature. In my opinion, courses should be a combination of both practical and theoretical knowledge in order to be beneficial for both students as well as employers.

While studying any course, it is essential that the foundation of the subjects need to be taught to students. This helps them to build deep knowledge and expertise in the subject study. For e.g., for any surgeon, learning surgical skill will not be of any benefit without understanding physiology of the body. Furthermore, the skills required for any job can be acquired on the job through training or apprenticeship. However, most people undertake University education with an aim to further their job prospects and lack of practical knowledge may harm these prospects.

On the other hand, if University courses provide a balance of both skills and academic knowledge, it can help graduates to approach their job roles more confidently in the future. Also, by hiring skilled graduates, employers are able to eliminate the cost and effort required in training fresh graduates. This benefits the company through higher productivity from skilled work force. Further, it also aid graduates as they are able to draw better salary packages from their employers and raise their standard of living.

To conclude, University courses focusing only on academic knowledge helps neither the students nor employers. An intermediary approach of providing course content including both practical and theoretical knowledge is a better alternative.