It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that teaching and learning history have played a crucial role in society. While some people believe that students should only study local history in school instead of world history due to its importance, I completely disagree with this idea.

As a result of globalization, knowledge of historical events taking place in a local area is insufficient and outdated for schoolchildren to adapt to modern life. With a deficiency of insight into world historical upheavals, young students are not able to comprehend the differences among migrant citizens. Thus, this creates difficulties for them to communicate with and build strong relationships with those people from different cultures or nations in their community. Furthermore, they are less likely to be prepared to live in another place as they feel unfamiliar with other historically traditional values. If those children are forced to immigrate and settle in cities, they will experience cultural shock more severely than their peers with an international historical background.

Another reason is that teaching world history can help young children gain various benefits. Firstly, children can gain a better understanding of their local events in relation to historical global changes. Secondly, a significantly wider background in local and global history will provide opportunities for them to process a multi-dimensional perception. For example, Vietnamese students can explain the independence day in 1945 based on not only national but also other world historic events. This also contributes to an extremely large improvement in independent and critical thinking in the young generation when it comes to discussion about a historical event.

In conclusion, I think that teaching children local history, which is considered more vital than world history, is inappropriate. Learning both will be more beneficial for the young.