It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that spending the public fund on the prevention of illness by encouraging a healthy lifestyle is more essential rather than using it on the treatment of patients. Personally, I completely agree with this statement and I believe that maintaining a healthy lifestyle can have many long-term benefits.

First of all, I find it hard to disagree that health promotion and diseases prevention can produce greater perennial impacts on society. People who were persuaded of the advantage of eating nutritious meals that includes less meat, more vegetables, and free of fast food, therefore, can easily avoid ailments resulting from eating and plenty of health problems such as obesity and cardiovascular diseases. Moreover, regular exercise should be encouraged as part of a healthy lifestyle. This will help humans adopt such a healthy lifestyle and improve their immune systems. Furthermore, not only the physical health is enhancing but also prevents many mental health problems such as depression.

Secondly, it is clear that leading a healthy lifestyle that includes daily exercise and effective illness prevention will result in fewer people visiting hospitals, lowering the amount of money spent on hospitalization and other medical expenditures. In addition, if the promotion of this lifestyle and the prevention was convincing, in the long run, it probably less costly than paying for treatment. Obviously, this will contribute to reducing the government's burden of patient care and also the whole society.

In conclusion, I believe that the government expenditure should be focused on preventing sickness by raising public awareness of regular exercise and nutritious eating habits.