It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are conflicting views between whether the government should spend money on encouraging a healthy lifestyle and the public money should be used for treatment of people who have illness. From my perspective, I firmly agree with the first statement.

First, when it comes to price, promoting a healthy lifestyle is much more affordable than finding treatment for people with illness. The politicians can advocate the citizen with a healthier life by propagating on the Internet or on the TV and educating more at schools about taking more exercises, eating nutrient food and consume less fast food. Raising people’s awareness about a healthy lifestyle can the remove the existence of many diseases from the roots. Whereas, the cost of treating for intractable diseases is very high. And if they have insurances, the government have to pay more for them. Therefore, the expenses that the government have to invest in is much more expensive.

Moreover, there are many intractable diseases that just be prevented like HIV/AIDS or cancer… In fact, there are drugs and treatments prolonging the lives of patients suffering from diseases. However, all of the terminal diseases can be prevented if people follow a healthy habit. For instance, in recent time, the outbreak of COVID-19 make millions of people confront with the death, if prevention is underestimated, it will make the situation becoming worse and worse.

In a nutshell, I believe that the public money should be spent more on advocating people with a healthier lifestyle rather than spent it for treatment for people who are already ill due to the cheaper price and the outbreak of some diseases that have not got the effective treatment.