It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the aid of transportation technologies, it is now possible to reach even the most distant regions in the world. However, I would contend that the merits of this development are outweighed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the ability to travel anywhere in the world offers considerable benefits. First of all, the discovery of new areas allows everyone to gain a better understanding of the earth and new species. This newfound knowledge can act as a precursor to provide scientists with valuable insights to more effectively combat environmental issues such as climate change. Access to previously unreachable scenic beauty also suggests tourism opportunities, as travel enthusiasts are always on the lookout for new exotic getaways.

However, I believe the positive aspects of this trend are eclipsed by more immediate threats to life in this remote natural world. More often than not, as major corporations set foot on and exploit tourism in these areas, the construction of tourism facilities drives out the indigenous people living there. Hotels and recreational facilities emerged at the expense of the locals' accommodation. These people are coerced into / assimilation, which, as history has indicated, results in loss of civilizations and cultures. The presence of foreign visitors in these places also poses certain threats to the natural environment, namely water contamination, land degradation and natural resource depletion.

In conclusion, as exciting as the thought of traveling to remote natural areas may sound, I believe they are better off left untouched.