It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The fast-paced growth of technology has given human race the ability to get access to some of the world’s most isolated area. From my perspective, considering the merits and demerits that this development offers, I would content that its positive aspects would overshadow it negative sides.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that easy accessibility to remote natural areas has lend scientists a great helping hand in uncovering plenty of mysterious animals, plants and events on Earth. To cite an example, by thorough investigation in the amount of ice in the North Pole, human beings are now not only fully aware of the emergency in the area but also in an effort of enforcing more policies and suitable measurements with the view to conserve the nature. Secondly, the tourism industry has reaped plenty of benefits from this development. There is an increasing amount of tourists purchasing traveling package to explore the wilderness since it is believed to help them escape from the traditional touring routes as well as broaden their horizons.

On the other hand, we can not be ignorant of the devastating effect that human beings can bring to the biodiversity of these isolated area. Given that the North Pole, jungles, rain forests and so on are among the most vulnerable places on Earth, the more people come to the sites, the faster their degradation level would be. There are still some existed illiterate tourists, who would destroy the surrounding biodiversity by dumping litters or threatening the wild animals. Should these actions are carried on in the long run and on a large scale, the world’s most precious natural resources would be on the verge of extinction in the near future.

In the nutshell, the possibility of traveling to remote places offers human both benefits and drawbacks and I hold the belief that its plenty merits can surpassed the negative aspects.