It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the development of technology, nowadays, scientists and visitors have been able to travel to distant parts of the world that were previously unreachable. Although I can acknowledge some benefits of this trend, I would argue that it’s an unwelcome development.

On the one hand, the merits of discovering new environments are undeniable. Firstly, tourists can enrich their life experience . Since going abroad for traveling has been too common, an once-in-a-life-time trip to a far-away place such as the South Pole can be more exciting to people and can also give them unique, unforgettable memories. Another advantage of going to remote areas is the chances for scientific research. New resources that can be found from those travels can help solve many current environmental problems, meaning that there will be improvements to all of humanity’s lives.

However, I believe that the drawbacks of traveling to remote places are far more significant. The first one is its threats to the local environment. There would be a higher possibility of pollution due to the gas emission, waste, and sewage releases from the tourists’ and scientists’ activities at those regions, thereby negatively affecting the environment and natural creatures. The second demerit is the dangers that visitors may face. The weather conditions might be quite extreme, and there would also be hostile species in virgin areas. This means that, if tourists didn’t have good preparation, those factors might have a detrimental effect on both their health and experience.

In conclusion, tours to distant natural areas might be wonderful life experiences to tourists and feasible chances for research to scientists. However, such benefits can be marginalized by its potential risks to the local environment and travelers.