It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

It is irrefutable that nowadays there is a shortage of pupils choosing to study the subjects related to science. This worrisome phenomenon resulted from several reasons and it may bring numerous negative effects on the whole society.

To begin with, there is a variety of explanations about the lack of science-based students. First and foremost, it is quite high demanding when combines with other disciplines. There seem to be shreds of evidence that studying in the science fields requires the devotion of the learner since there are dense curriculums and internship programs. An illustration of this is that the syllabus of the science specialized is frequent up to six or seven years of acquiring academic knowledge. Medical Colleges, which have the most rigorous entrance examination and long-lasting course of study, can be a good case in point. Furthermore, even when passing this test, there are still various challenging inspections and dissertations waited these freshmen ahead. Another reason for this deficiency is due to the limited occupation opportunity and great competition. The new graduated from science major in the university, even if it is the prestigious ones, are reportedly found it difficult to apply for a suitable job associated with their major. This tendency is in consequence of the fact that science-based subject took its pupils quite a long time to be mastered in the field and meet the enterprises' demand.

It is undoubtedly true that this tendency brings plenty of disadvantages to the community. In the first place, there is a disproportionate in workforce distribution which resulted in labour redundancy in other fields. On the other hand, it is synonymous with the fact that numerous graduated students will force to do business contrary to their speciality. It is not only wasting their college time but also bring them and their family financial challenges since the tuition expenses of these universities is not a good price. The lack of postgraduate in science specializes apparently associated with the underdevelopment of these fields. As a result, the opportunity of having achievements or breakthrough in science is shrinking. Agriculture science which is essential to accelerate the crop yield and solve the environmental problems originated from agrochemicals is a representative instance.

To summarize, the shortage in the labour force in science- related fields may due to the restricted job opportunity and high requirement of these specialities. Consequently, this tendency can lead to the underdevelopment of these fields, the unemployment or doing nonspecialize work of the new graduated.