It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Children normally being recoginzed as energetic and choose to move more, for instance, play rather than read. This is mainly because of the lack of promotation strategy and the difficulty fullfilling curiosity when reading. There are number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with children who do not want to read.

Firstly, the reason for most children who do not read, is due to lack of promotion strategy whilst in school or home. In other words, most children especially who are strongly disagree to read are not given a chance to read what they would interest to or gain a reading habit, explore the world through books and instead purely play physically. Secondly, the children unwillingness towards reading is also owing to the difficulty in fulfilling curiosity to the world in reading books. As a result, many of them get relatively bored or sleepy when reading which leads them play physically, regardless of how potential of fun books would have.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of children unwillingness towards reading. One way to tackle this is to ensure all children in school are given the chance to choose from what they interested in which will hopefully ensure them keep reading after they choose to. By doing this, it will help them nurture their reading habit and give them some means of preparing for future academic requirement. Another method of dealing with children who unwilling to read is to have more promotion like reading week or session when they are in school time. This solution would hopefully prevent them from not taking any chance and foster them from start reading because they are being require to do so.

In conclusion, having activities in school and also the freedom to book choice are the key in dealing with the issue. If school implemented these solutions, reading rate would soon increase.