It is often considered that change is more beneficial to people than trying to avoid it and have everything remain the same. Do you think the advantages of change outweight the disadvantages?

Many people believe that change is highly beneficial in life, while other prefer a more predictable one, but change comes with both advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I think that the advantages are more significant than the disadvantages.

On the one hand, for people, change means going out of their comfort zones, coming out of their shells, and that means getting to live new experiences that make them learn more about theirselves. One is put in a situation where he has to push his limits and use every single ounce of knowledge possessed, and in that moment he can find out that he can do a lot more than he thought he could. Besides knowledge and new skills, from those experiences one can remain with new friends and acquaintances.

For example, exchange programmes in school or university are a great way for a person to change their routine a little bit, they will experience a new school system, make new friends from different countries and learn things about different culture’s tradition and also daily routine.

On the other hand, there can be a few disadvantages for people who are more introverted or prefer a life with an established routine. People that have anxiety may find it hard to handle change and go out of their comfort zone. Situations like being in a completely new environment and sudden change may disturb their mental health because they do not know how to act; they could panic, overthink everything or even have a depressive episode.

In conclusion, in my opinion the advantages outweights the disadvantages by a lot, however some people are just not meant for big changes, but deviating a bit from daily routine can be beneficial for everyone.