With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Some people think that using e-books instead of paper books is a good step forward, while others prefer sticking to normal books, and this comes with a set of advantages and disadvantages.

On one hand, it is known that book factories pollute the environment and that tons of forests are being cut down to produce paper. With the percent of people purchasing paper books lowering, factories will start producing less and less, which will support combating pollution and global warming. Antoher advantage of e-books is that they are also more convenient; one can have how many books he wants on one device that can be carried everywhere: waiting in line, on the airplane, at school or even work.

On the other hand, e-books can be harmful to one’s eyesight because of the blue light. This light may affect vision and could prematurely age the eyes, and research shows that too much exposure to blue light could lead to retina damage. Another drawback of digital books is that one does not get to experience reading a book at it’s finest; smelling an old book, flipping through it’s pages, seeing it’s brown pages marked by the passing of time. Reading a paper book in the digital era, when one is staring at a screen on a daily basis feels like a break from the world and it is a lot more enjoyable.

In conclusion, digital books come with advantages and also disadvantages, and the best thing to do is finding a balance between these two by buying new released books as e-books, keeping what was written is the past on paper.