Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some employers that the people working should follow a dress code according to the place where they work, while others believe that the quality of the work they pursue is more important than appearance. In my opinion, it is important to dress smartly, but pursuing a quality work is also an aspect one should care about.

On one hand, we live in a society where how one looks is very important, and first impressions do matter for a lot of people. The image of a business is mirrored in the way that the employers not only act, but how they look, so that is why dressing accordingly to the image of the place one works is important. For example, if one works at a bank, he should have a more formal dress code, like a suit, but if one works at a children playground he should have a more casual outfit on.

On the other hand, the appearance is not the only important thing, The quality of the work pursued is also an important aspect of the work ethic. If one wants to be appreciated at work, he should give his best to follow the deadlines, show appropriate behaviour and be nice to the colleagues and customers. When looking at a CV, the employer is interested in seeing one's skills and accomplishments rather then how good one can dress. For example, if a person works from home, we can't talk about following a dress code because there is none; the only thing that matters is if he is interested, ambitious and does his best in doing his work.

In conclusion, depending on the place one works, both of these aspects can be less or more important. Employees should care about both if they want to create the best image of themselves possible.