It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that schools provide the younger generations with so much theoretical knowledge, but neglect to teach them the practical classes, such as soft skills and household skills, that bring a lot of benefits as well. There are many reasons explained why numerous universities solely focus on academic classes. However, I assume that understudies should have practical training. I will explain my opinions in more detail below.

Nowadays, the competition for jobs is so fierce, students must own excellent degrees to seek a decent job. Therefore, they spend most of their time studying theories and academic subjects to get high grades. Apart from classes at schools, they even have after-school workshops until 9 or 10 pm. Especially in Asian countries, parents put many expectations on their children to be the top students in class and school. These parents do not allow their children to do anything except concentrating on studying. Thus, adolescents do not even have any chances to take care of themselves, much less learn soft skills.

While scholarly knowledge can bring them a decent salary at first, but it cannot help them move forward and develop their career in the future if they don’t have basic soft skills such as communication, negotiation and problem-solving. A successful person or a leader must understand their subordinates, clients and know how to work collaboratively with others. Moreover, household skills like cleaning and cooking allow postgraduates to manage their lives better, have a healthy life and live wherever without their family.

Academic knowledge is the first and foremost thing that students need to try their best to study during their school time. However, other skills also play a crucial role in developing a career and having a healthy life. Schools should organize practical courses to facilitate and encourage students to participate.