Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Universities provide knowledge for people's future careers. Most of them, let students spend most of their time on academic and theoretical classes without practicing them. Some people suggest that younger generations should be offered hand-on experience to be ready for later work. I agree with this opinion. I will elaborate on my points of view in more detail below.

Theoretical knowledge is the first and foremost thing that understudies have to study, but practice also plays a crucial role in the process acquiring knowledge. Without hand-on courses, students won't be able to grasp the purposes of subjects and gain in-depth knowledge. Moreover, if universities solely concentrate on teaching theories, but practice, students cannot apply what they studied their lives or careers, let alone develop their knowledge. As an example, Vietnamese students are taught so much grammar and vocabulary about English, but little about speaking and listening. Therefore, they can pass reading exams easily, but they cannot communicate after 12 years of studying English.

Practice not only makes the subjects more attractive, but also helps students remember knowledge longer. Practical training allows students to become involved in subjects rather than listening to theory passively. Additionally, some scientific theories are not always correct, practice is a great chance for students to discover and improve them. Theoretical studying is an individual work, however, in some subjects, classmates need to cooperate to complete duties. By doing so, students can improve soft skills such as teamwork and communication.

University should create more opportunities for students to practice their theoretical knowledge. Theories are meaningless if they are not applied and bring benefits.