Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Instead of only offering knowledge, some people believe that universities should provide more practical classes for students. I agree with this opinion. I will elaborate on my points of view in more detail below.

Practice plays a crucial role in the process of acquiring knowledge. Although theoretical knowledge is the first and foremost thing students have to study, without practical courses, students won't be able to grasp the purposes of subjects and how beneficial these subjects are. Moreover, when universities solely concentrate on teaching students theories but practice, students cannot apply what they studied to their lives or careers, let alone develop their knowledge. For example, Vietnamese students are taught so much grammar and vocabulary about English but little about speaking and listening. Therefore, they can pass reading exams easily while they cannot communicate after 12 years of studying English.

Practising not only makes the subjects more attractive but also helps students remember knowledge longer. Practical training allows students to become involved in subjects rather than listening to theory passively. Additionally, some scientific theories are not always correct, practice is a great chance for students to discover and improve them. Theoretical studying is individual work, however, in some subjects, to implement duties classmates need to cooperate. By doing so, students can improve soft skills such as teamwork and communication.

University should create more opportunities for students to practice their theoretical knowledge. Theories are meaningless if they are not applied and bring benefits.