26.The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.

Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

Nowadays, more and more people are immigrating to cities. Therefore the demand for private car use increases as well. This reason causes traffic jams and air contamination in urban areas. Schools and government have a crucial role to play in solving this issue, by encouraging city dwellers to use public transportation instead of their cars. I suggest some ways to implement this in more detail below.

The authorities can limit the amount of time urbanites use their cars during rush hours. The Netherlands is one of the wealthiest countries that encourage people to use bicycles instead. Furthermore, increasing parking fees for private vehicles and decreasing the public ticket price are effective methods. There are many reasons why people dislike public transportation, including waiting too long for buses and walking too far when their destination is quite far from the station. Thus, public transport systems such as metros, trains, buses also need to be developed and expanded to more routes. The stations are needed to be constructed more as well.

To encourage urban dwellers to use public transportation, the government should raise their awareness about environmental protection, show them the benefits offered by public transportation and the threats posed if people continue to use their vehicles. Schools should also teach children about this, as they are the next generation, they will be responsible for the world in the future, and they need to know to protect the environment and themselves. Additionally, children are the ones who tell their parents when they are not aware of a problem.

Private vehicles are faster and more convenient, so it is difficult to break the habit of using them. However, until now, the best way to prevent air pollution has been to use public transportation. Consequently, I believe that if the government and every person collaborate, this is no longer a problem.