It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

In recent years, the raise of juvenile delinquency has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this problem is attributed to by a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be adopted to tackle it.

Some causes can be cited to explain for the emergence of this issue. First, since the majority of current adolescents have an excessive exposure to questionable contents, they are inclined to become would-be delinquents. In fact, prevalent video games and films are violent, and they spread the message the more you kill, the stronger you are, which galvanizes the aggression of young people and makes them have the tendency to solve all their conflicts by violence. Second, by targeting young generation, drug dealers also contribute to making vulnerable young people engage in illegal activities. Plenty of evidences have shown that drugs can easily make human addicted to it and lose the control of themselves, so addicts will do everything even commit crimes to obtain money in order to support their drug use, especially young people who are pushover.

However, this trend can be effectively solved by a number of feasible solutions. First, since violence in media can be considered major contributor to the increasing youth crime, the government should manage more stringently contents on the media, which will help adolescents not be excessively exposed to the violent scenes. In fact that, if questionable contents are replaced with inspirational ones, the media can help nature morality’s young people. Second, imposing strict and severe sanctions on drug trafficking plays an integral role in tacking the crimes. This means that, if drug dealers as well as buyers are sentenced lifetime imprisonment, other would be delinquents will have the fear of being punished, which acts as a deterrent for would-be criminals.

In conclusion, the rampancy of violent violence in the media and drug industry are the main culprits for the growth of juvenile delinquency. By enforcing laws, the police can alleviate problem to a controllable level.