It is sometimes said that countries should produce all the food for their populations to eat and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that countries should minimize food imports and prioritize achieving food self-sufficiency instead. In my opinion, I disagree with this notion because I believe that self-production and import should be pursued simultaneously.

Those who believe that people should be entirely supplied with domestic food may point to food independence and employability. It is true that not relying on other supply sources from other countries can alleviate the concern of the authorities about prices and the global food situation. Besides, the expansion of this area can generate many potential jobs for local residents because self-production requires the involvement of a huge workforce for its complicated procedures. However, I think these are short-term advantages while in the long term, the government may face challenges when the population grows dramatically, the natural resources run out, and the future generation does not favor working in this field.

In my view, countries should not only produce food but also import it in an appropriate quantity for the diversity of supply chains and economic efficiency. Regarding the former, food import restrictions can impose pressure on the government when that country is confronted with food shortages derived from harsh conditions and inferior technology, which could be addressed by importation. In terms of economic perspective, food self-producing is not always more economical than buying it abroad if they do not have favorable conditions. For instance, if the government invests in agriculture regardless of the common extreme weather conditions, they are likely to waste as the crops may be devastated by several yearly storms. Instead, they should finance their advantageous sectors to produce lucrative products and export to the international market for profit enhancement.

In conclusion, while I understand why people advocate the notion that countries should produce all food for their population and limit imports, I believe that importation and self-reliance should be utilized to solve food shortages and boost economic development.