It is sometimes said that countries should produce all the food for their populations to eat and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly thought that nations should try to minimize food imports and maximize their own production. While I understand why some people support this view, I would still firmly disagree with it since I believe that self-producing and importing food from abroad are of equal importance.

Advocates of countries producing their own food may have numerous arguments. Regarding the former, these nations offer numerous benefits. This is because local food production can support the domestic economy by creating jobs and reducing import costs. Such advantages not only generate employment opportunities in agriculture and related industries but also decrease the fee on transport and tax from imported food, thereby boosting local economies. As far as the second idea is concerned, self-producing can additionaly be a huge opening for local cuisine heritage. Evidence for this can be seen in domestic markets where they have the opportunity to grow and sell their own food while maintaining traditional recipes and cooking methods.

Despite the aforementioned valid reasons, I would assert that importing food is as important as producing food. The first factor contributing to this is the unavailability of some types of ingredients in many countries. In fact, these countries live in locations where only certain vegetables can be grown, meaning that they have to purchase them internationally. As a result, they can access a wide variety of foods that may not be locally available, enhancing dietary diversity. Another point worth mentioning is that importing food from abroad can also boost the economy. This may stem from trading relationships and economic ties with other countries, while supporting related industries such as shipping, logistics, and retail. This can result in economic growth.

In conclusion, it is understandable why some people advocate the idea of self-producing food. However, I take the view that the role of own productions and food import are equally necessary.