It is sometimes said that the countryside does not offer a high quality of life, especially for families. Yet others opt to live and work in the countryside for its benefits.

What is your own view about this?

Choices about dwelling locations may vary from people to people; while to some, living in the countryside has certain advantages, others express disagreement on this settlement: it is unsuitable for living, particularly for family units. I am inclined to the latter viewpoint because of certain aspects.

Rural areas are thought to be a rewarding place which goes beyond common material considerations. In the first place, residents are self-sufficient smallholders, safeguarding them from changes in the wider economy which is likely to afflict city dwellers. They have methods of self-sustainability in various forms such as crop rotation and alteration as well as animal husbandry. Such ways of agricultural activities provide each householder an adequate amount of money for their families’ finance, leading them to a desirable life. Added to this is a strong awareness of the environment from inhabitants – local peasants. They perceive the importance of the surroundings; land provides almost everything they need, so they are in tune with the natural world and have better a sense of environmental conservation and restoration. For the two main causes, it is beneficial to reside in the countryside.

Nonetheless, I believe the negative points exceed the positive ones. Firstly, job opportunities are limited in this place, forcing thousands of youngsters relocate to cities in hope of new employment. It is irrefutable that most sectors, even farming, are now developing at a sluggish speed due to a lack of natural resources and fast growth of urban regions. Hence, wealthy farm owners only occupy a small percentage. Secondly, dwelling in the country means being away from cultural amenities. Schools of high quality or shopping complexes may be something out of people’s reach, which stymies life development of young generations. It also jeopardizes the standard of living of the next generations when they are living in ethnic groups within remote areas far from civilization. Advanced education, healthcare systems and transportation would hardly be established and distributed in this spots owing mostly to arduous entry.

In conclusion, although it may seem to have particular benefits to live in the countryside, the drawback could dominate totally. It is a wise option to settle in the city for future life prospects.