It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It is believed that learning the way to grow vegetables and keep animals needs to be taken into consideration to become a part of the school program for primary children. Despite the drawback this suggestion brings to children, its values are more significant.

Learning how to grow vegetables and feed animals sometimes may make children face potential risks such as injuries and rabies. To explain it, children are so curious and innocent that they cannot recognize that their actions can make animals upset; therefore, sometimes children can be attacked by animals because they have some improper behaviors including padding wrong places on animals’ bodies or deliberately hurt animals. Even worse, if children are bitten by a dog with rabies virus, they can be infected.

Nevertheless, children can reap greater benefits from these activities. The first advantage is that this makes contributions to heighten children’s awareness of the protection of the environment in general and the conservation of plants and animals. This is because when teachers teach children some theories and consequences of deteriorating the environment to deter them from unseemly conduct later on including illegal poaching wildlife and deforestation, children may not understand thoroughly. The reason is that these things have not happened in their lives, which means that they are so abstract to children; however, growing vegetable and keeping animals facilitate exposure to real objects and practical situation with a view to boosting the love of children for plants and animals, which can be considered as a useful approach to prevent them from the destruction of environment partly. Other than that, this can be used as a great tool to educate children about moral values. For example, if children have chances to experience difficulties which most farmers have to be faced with when they grow rice, the appreciation and respect of children to farmers and food can raise.

All in all, although sometimes children can have some injuries if they are not careful when they expose to animals, children can gain a lot of useful knowledge and moral values from taking care of vegetables and animals.