Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as friends, help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, different kinds of artificial intelligence and robots are assisting people in many aspects of their life. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can affect people in many aspects of their life.

The first reason why this is a negative is that the extensive use of machines can result in overdependence, and thus people are opting for a more sedentary lifestyle. To illustrate, before the rise of technological devices, people used to be more fit and healthy by doing various house chores such as washing the dishes and other domestic tasks. However, in the presence of automated devices, people are becoming physically inactive and spending more time watching television or playing video games. Therefore, inactivity of this kind can lead to medical issues including obesity and heart disease.

Another issue is that workers are losing their jobs due to increasing automation in different industries and factories. In other words, robots and machines are replacing employees that perform routine manual tasks because they are capable of handling a larger workload in a short period. For instance, restaurants in Japan use robots instead of waiters because they are self-sufficient and can take orders instantaneously. Consequently, there is a significant rise in unemployment worldwide. Furthermore, the maintenance and repair of robots can be expensive and unaffordable and programs need to be updated according to daily requirements. For example, electronic devices can frequently break down and malfunction, and thus they require extensive repairs which cost copious amounts of money.

In conclusion, although automated devices can aid people in diverse and daily tasks, excessive reliance on such gadgets can result in obesity, unemployment and monetary issues. For this reason, I am convinced that utilising robots is a negative trend in general.