It is widely believed that national authority should raise the price of petrol to address environmental issues. I strongly disagree with this idea because there are various other effective solutions.

It is unreasonable to raise taxes on petrol in order to mitigate environmental problems. Firstly, fuel is a source of energy which is necessary for vehicles to transport materials. If the state made the cost of this energy exorbitant, the price of numerous goods would be likely to climb as a result of expensive transport expenditure. Secondly, the communities keep developing; therefore the demand for using vehicles to travel is indispensable. This raise in cost would trigger social disagreement and resentment, coupled with the reluctance of using fuel to commute every day, thus this could be counter-productive.

On the other hand, other measures would have greater effectiveness. The first solution is that the authority could implement certain regulations restricting the use of private vehicles such as cars and encourage people to use public transport. This would alleviate the problems of pollution caused by exhaust fumes and help to reduce the greenhouse effect. Furthermore, by increasing public education and raising citizens' awareness of the causes and impacts of gas emissions from vehicles, people will probably try to use renewable energy such as thermal energy or solar power in order to reach the goal of sustainable development.

In conclusion, I believe that heightening the price of fuel used for traveling to adopt traffic and pollution problems is somewhat absurd; and some methods should be taken to address this issue instead.