Lack of freshwater is becoming a global issue of increasing importance.

What problems does this shortage cause?

What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

As the world enters a new era, where the summit of technology is being reached by humans, and the rise of population witnessed records throughout the years, there is a heated debate about what it means for the environment. To be more specific, how has humanity sacred one of the most essential elements of life – Water, and what can we do to compensate for our mistakes?

Due to the shortage of freshwater, it comes with no surprise that the effects on both nature and humanity are beyond detrimental. Firstly, because the explicit disregard for water means fewer species of animals are able to utilize it, the world would witness one of the biggest decreases in biodiversity in history if humanity is oblivious to such damaging development. Unfortunately, countless species throughout hundreds of years had become extinct thanks to no small part of this exploitation of water sources. If this trend continues, nature will catch up with humanity, and we begin to expect poorly-developed countries, where freshwater has been a delicacy, to be wiped off the face of Earth.

Fortunately, such demise will have to wait for thousands of years to come, which is plenty of time for humanity to turn everything around. Scientists throughout the globe can start by researching new methods of water purification that are both ecofriendly, and fit inside of the poorly-developed countries’ budgets. In fact, many young researchers had already come up with a few ideas about how the contaminated water sources can be fixed, and scientists have been putting them into practical use. However, no trickery can resolve our problems better than our responsibilities. Because in the end, everything boils down to how mankind utilizes water on a daily basis. The problems about water that we are facing at the moment must be shed the light on, and it is particularly necessary for both citizens and the industries to nurture the source of drinkable water by referring to more environmentally-friendly habits of consumption and production.

In conclusion, without sufficient access to fresh water sources, the environment will crumble in the palm of our hands. Then, humanity would witness a great decline in biodiversity, along with the tragic deterioration of the poor ones’ lifestyles. However, it only takes a few simple steps to resolve such problems, from the development of eco-friendly technology to being responsible consumers altogether.