Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance.

What problems does this shortage cause?

What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Firstly, lack of freshwater would lead to conditions like drought and detrimental effects on the survival of living beings. Every living being on Earth, may it be humans or flora and fauna, require freshwater for drinking. Rivers and lakes are being polluted and the once drinkable freshwater is no longer even usable. For instance, industries that are set up on the banks of river Ganga in India, use the water and discharge the wastewater generated without treating it into the river. Furthermore, cities located on the banks of rivers direct the sewage pipes into the rivers. Secondly, industries ironically depend on the same freshwater resource that they are polluting. Depletion in freshwater would, thus, also result in manufacturing processes being hampered. For instance, cloth manufacturing industries are known to use one of the most amount of water and generate equivalent amounts of wastewater to be dumped in freshwater resources.

If the situation continues, in a few years there would be no freshwater resources and life on Earth would cease to exist. One of the measures that can be taken to solve these problems, is that the government should impose strict rules and regulations on the discharge of wastewater from the sewers as well as from the industries. Industries that do not follow the norms, should be penalized severely with high taxes. Moreover, measures should be taken to create awareness among the citizens to avoid throwing garbage in the rivers. The government should partner with Non-profit organizations and raise funds for the cleanliness and maintenance of lakes and rivers.

In conclusion, freshwater resources have a significant impact on the lives of society as well as other living beings. In order to make the Earth habitable, these resources must be used cautiously and meticulously which can be done by imposing strict rules and by creating awareness among citizens.