As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

What is your view of this practice?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Currently, there are three major languages as known as English, Spanish and Mandarin. Those languages are widely used around the world. These languages became the major language spoken by the majority of population. If the growing number of people only follow the trend of speak the major language, other language might die out. Therefore, it is important to protect minor languages as it is the country's culture.

The language would follow by the cultural values. For example, in the case of South African cultures cannot be found in nowadays, because their language and cultures have replaced with English. While South African loses their language and culture, Chinese spread their language and culture. Therefore, it is important to protect their native language as it means saving the cultural values.

As the population would choose to learn only the major languages this results minor language disappearing. Therefore, it is important to save those minority languages. For example, in Australia, the government has set up the indigenous government body to protect Australian Aboriginal cultures and its languages. Those people are facing with their languages to fade away at any time. Therefore, government could encourage its citizen to use their language more often and try to spread those languages.

The language could save by the encouragement programs done by the government and the help from the citizen to use of its native languages. I agree that the fact that many languages have died along the time periods. I believe that it is important to protect minority languages as it followed with the cultural values.