A large number of deaths are caused by road accidents. Why do so many road accidents occur? Make recommendations that would help to reduce the number of road accidents.

It is true that road accidents are among the major causes of mortality all over the world. Several factors are responsible for this worrying trend, and some steps by the government and individuals can be taken to save people from being victims.

There are several factors responsible for this rise in road accidents. Firstly, it is the pathetic and dilapidated condition of motorways which leads to various accidents that result in serious injuries. Also, sometimes natural conditions like fog and snow make the roads slippery, which further enhances the number of casualties. Secondly, inadequate vehicle maintenance plays a part in this scenario; like in most developing countries, people generally do not care about the safety measures and standards required for driving a vehicle and generally tend to ignore the maintenance of defective breaks and broken lights, which results in increasing probability of accidents. Finally, driver's unwilling attitude to follow rules and regulations and even the use of alcohol and mobile phones while driving lead to a number of road collisions.

These road accidents can be lessened by certain measures. The first and foremost solution is to increase awareness among the public regarding this alarming issue by organizing certain workshops and campaigns by means of which they can help the people and guide them about traffic rules, which will certainly limit the figures related to these incidents. Moreover, laws should be enforced by the authorities for reckless driving, and proper speed limits should be fixed, and heavy penalties must be imposed on persons who breach them. Also, the installation of surveillance cameras on highways and roundabouts, which would ensure vigil on culprits, can be a fruitful solution for mitigating this issue. Last but not least, the government need to develop infrastructure too by widening the roads and by making road signs, subways and flyovers in accordance with the up-to-date demands which would enable the smooth movement of vehicles.

In conclusion, the irresponsible behaviour of government and individuals is the root cause of these road disasters; this catastrophe can be avoided by taking a few steps by both sides.