Topic: Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, with the development of information and technology, copyright issues have become a hotly debated topic, as copyrighted music and books can now be downloaded freely with a click. While some believe that this development brings about advantages in a few aspects, it may lead to drastic consequences which are far greater than any advantages.

There is a common belief that downloading copyrighted content at no cost is greatly beneficial to the community. The primary reason is that with this improvement, the number of people who can access valuable sources of knowledge will increase. As a result, the poor might have equal capability to other classes to develop academically. In addition, to the music field, when this form of content is free of charge, residents have a chance to enrich their music soul in particular and art in general. When music can be reached variously, people understand better this field and thus nurture musical talent.

However, there are compelling grounds that freely accessing intellectual content contains more drawbacks compared to its benefits. In the era of the purchasing ratio is strong evidence for product quality and recognition as well, authors find it difficult to ascertain whether their creations are well-qualified or not since everyone has the same ability to take. This will lead to those authors having no motivation to create good songs or books. Intellectual content is not only about recognition but also about showing human ethics. Using someone’s work without allowance is a form of disrespecting their rights and stealing their work. Consequently, the artists are less likely to contribute positively to the community.

All in all, although there are a few reasons why letting citizens utilize copyrighted music and books is positively true, I am of the opinion that there is stronger evidence that it leads to more serious shortcomings than any advantages. It is recommended that copyrighted content should be respected by not allowing people to take it freely and also should not set a high price for that content, which would benefit those with limited financial means.