Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement??

From the beginning of time, arts such as music and theatre have been a crucial part of society as a whole as it determines the identity of the people living in that society. I believe that investment in arts is as important as in public services and this essay will highlight some of the reasons why it is equally important as public welfare.

Some people believe that public welfare is more important than arts such as music and theater because the infrastructure for basic needs such as transportation, living, and food supply is the fundamental need of any society. As every government has limited financial resources it should focus on public services rather than on arts and cultural activities. Another reason why people think that public welfare must be a priority is that arts do not add any value to their life. Because investments by the government in this sector does not directly affect the life of an individual. For example, if a government decides to open a theatre in a city then it will not help the general public but if that same amount is invested in improving the transportation of the city it would be more helpful for all the people living in that region.

On the other hand, the most vital advantage and the most obvious one is that it gives the people of that country or region their heritage and gives them a sense of belonging to their home. For example, Bhangra is a folk dance of Punjab(India) which is world-famous and gives a unique identity to the people living in that country. Another significant advantage is not only it provides rich culture it also a source of livelihood for thousands of people. Today, the entertainment sector is worth billions of dollars and without government investments, it would have been impossible. For instance, the music industry in the USA is the biggest market there is and it provides a livelihood for millions of people working there.

In conclusion, I think that there should be a balance in investment by the government because both arts and public services are equally important for society as a whole and one cannot be compared to the other as both have their own benefits.