Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, universities all around the world are offering courses online so that students can learn online. This is a step forward in educating the society as it is cheaper to study online and makes the courses more accessible to students as compared to a conventional mode of teaching.

To begin with, online classes are economical for the students and the universities alike. This is because the professors can record the lessons and are not constrained by the size of the class thus thousands of aspirants can attend the course from the comfort of their home making it an excellent model of education. To illustrate, online platforms are offering courses of top universities with certificates at very reasonable cost as compared to at campus classes. Teaching online thus presents itself as a much more logical mode of education.

Another significant positive effect is that students around the globe get access to top universities. This was only achieved thanks to the internet which has made online education a reality for the people living in third world countries. To exemplify, students in India are among the top students in enrolling in online courses in a survey conducted by udemy an online teaching platform. Therefore, the digital mode of education can reach all continents of the world and gives access to the invaluable teachings of top universities.

In conclusion, universities all around the planet are offering their courses online as it is more economical and accessible for the students who cannot attend the courses at the campus.