Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement??

There is no doubt that the government plays a crucial role in society. A certain set of people believe investment in arts is a waste of money and this amount could be utilized for other welfare services of society. However, funding spent in this area can be justified and, therefore, valid arguments for both sides of this issue will be presented in this essay.

Firstly, public services such as education, healthcare are the basic need of any human being, because it plays a vital role in the well being of the people. For instance, the public school provides free education to all the children. Secondly, government finances majorly come from taxes, so it should be mainly utilized for community purposes. For example, subsidies provided by the government in cancer drugs are a huge help to the public.

On the other hand, the most vital benefit is that art gives the people of that region a sense of belonging. For example Bhangra a world-famous dance form of Punjab (India), which gives a unique identity to the people living in that country. Another significant advantage is not only it provides rich culture but also a source of livelihood for thousands of people. Today, the entertainment sector is worth billions of dollars and without government investments, it would have been impossible. For instance, Germany provides public funding of music at a level of $2.4 billion.

In conclusion, I think that there should be a balance in investment in arts and public welfare. Both are an important part of society and one cannot be replaced by the other.