Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if this are not taught many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, if so, how?

English is among the highly spoken languages around the world. So, importance of learning English is becoming vital than learning native languages. This leads to the extinction of the native languages. if asked, there are several reasons to learn English but at the same time we must not neglect the necessity of the native languages. Both the questions are explained in ensuing paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason to learn English is due to its reach in the corners of the world. To add on, English is the highly influential language and it is spoken by majority of population as their first or second language. Moreover, majority of private firms are conduction meetings and trainings in only English. So, by learning English one can get the benefits of it. Along with this, linguistic barrier will reduce if everyone accept and learn English; as a result, globalization will increase and cultural gap will reduce drastically which result in good trading and tourism across the country.

On the other hand, we must ensure the survival of the native languages. The major reason is that, native language represents the culture and it is connected with the deep roots of traditions in various parts of the globe. Likewise, local languages make communication easy with the local residents as everyone are not familiar with English. Therefore, there are several reasons to promote the local languages. Firstly, local languages must be included in the curriculum in the schools and universities. Also, movies, street plays, songs of the local languages must be created and promoted so that youth will get interested in learning them.

To conclude, I pen down saying that English has become an essential language for individual and the world. However, the local languages has its own benefits and connection with culture which imparts us to take some preventive steps for its survival.