Life around the spread of COVID-19

The newfound virus COVID-19, as the illness is officially known, is being reported daily around the world. In Vietnam, several universities have extended their Tet holiday, while parents feel worried about the safety of elementary school kids amid the coronavirus outbreak. There is no doubt that the new epidemic has both pros and cons.

According to the World Health Organization, more than 3,000 people have died globally, while more than 89,000 infections have been confirmed in a lot of countries. Perhaps most obviously, there are the costs to the health system, both public and private, of medical treatment of the infected and of outbreak control. Also, fear of infection can result in social distancing or closed schools, enterprises, commercial company, transportation, and public services-all of which disrupt economic and other socially valuable activity.

On the other hand, there are some advantages to this harsh time. Recently published by NASA show a significant decrease in the amount of nitrogen dioxide (NO2) in the air. It is believed that this decrease related to the shutdown of factories and the economic slowdown that has occurred due to the spread of COVID-19. Furthermore, people will be more united than ever to fight against pandemics together, as well as preserving cultural identity. All citizens, from the youngster to the older, join hands together and donate their strength and properties to fight against this new fatal disease. For example, little by little, civics give away face masks, sanitizers, food, money for the poorer one and the government.

In conclusion, in this isolation time to fight against the epidemic, nothing is impossible. It brings a lot of doubt and anxiety, also threatens people's health. But in some ways, we can recognize many good aspects during these difficult times.