Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause a serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the ease of globalization, individuals are able to travel or live abroad. One of the major problems faced by holidaymakers or immigrants is the language barrier. It is said that not knowing the regional language will lead to physical and social issues. This essay explains the agreement against the notion for the following reasons.

The local tongue has a significant role in the economic development of domestic regions. People who live in countries with various regional languages prefer to use their original dialog instead of the national language, particularly for financial purposes. Many local shops and resorts tend to use their native language. For holidaymakers, it is essential to have basic proficiency in the language; otherwise, they cannot survive in that region. Immigrants who wish to pursue a better career abroad without having a primary language in the desired country will encounter severe problems such as adaptation inability, lack of communication, and discrimination. The worst impact of that condition is having no job.

Humans are born as social creatures means that communication is part of emotional well-being. As foreigners, getting to socialize with the surrounding environment is critical to building good relationships and acceptance. Communicating with the local language helps to convey the messages in the right meaning without appearing disputes. Thus, for everyone who plans to stay longer in a specific region, having good communication with indigenous people would impact the public environment and personal life. For example, once I visited Japan for more than a week, I felt alone as I could not speak the local language.

To conclude, in my perspective, having basic proficiency in local languages is an integral part for both holidaymakers or immigrants otherwise, it will lead to consequences financially and emotionally as well.