Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Immigrating to other countries in pursuit of happiness and prosperity is the main feature of modernity. Given that the language of the new country may be different from the country of origin, some plausible social and personal problems may be aroused accordingly. I hold the view that regardless of the benefits offered by the new society, immigrants might face numerous problems, which will be examined here.

Having spent several years in a country with particular norms and values, one can find it hard to adapt himself to the new culture, leading to social conflicts and issues eventually. For instance, being labelled as an “immigrant” a person may face an identity crisis and tension would be exerted between the foreigners and locals. The ability to speak fluently and correctly, on the other hand, might seem hard, thus communication in the new language with the local people seems to be complicated. An example can be seen in the workplace, where the manager requests for document preparation and the foreign employee does not get the exact details properly to include in the file, which might be followed by punishment of unemployment.

Admittedly, moving abroad could benefit people in various ways. The main positive advantage would be the higher quality of life in terms of education, leisure activities, and even social rules. For instance, the children of a Muslim family can take advantage of the freedom that bears no comparison with the one in the original country.

To sum up, I firmly believe, that immigration, by and large, can pose serious stress and problems on human life despite the benefits and opportunities they can reap from. Therefore, such decisions should be taken wisely and thoughtfully to thwart any issues in the community and personal life collectively.